State winners line up for next month’s national CCAA Innovation Awards

The winners of this year’s state CCAA Innovation Awards are now locked in and all eyes turn to next month’s announcement of the winners of the biennial national CCAA Innovation Awards.

These will be presented at the 2018 Construction Materials Industry Conference (CMIC) gala dinner in Sydney on September 20. 

The 2018 State winners join the 2017 winners to compete for awards in three national categories – Environmental, Health and Safety and – new in 2018 - Community Leadership.

The Awards recognise best practice and underline the industry’s strong commitment to creating stronger community relationships, safer workplaces and ‘cleaner, greener’ operations.

“This year’s State Awards were again hotly contested, with over 140 submissions across all states and categories,” says CCAA CEO, Ken Slattery.

“I congratulate all our participants and thank them for sharing the innovative work they’re doing across these important business areas. I’d also like to thank our sponsors for their tremendous support.”

Below is the list of State Winners for 2018.  Click on the name of each State to find out more about the winning submissions and others highly commended as well as a wrap-up and pictures from the State Awards Dinner.

Details on the 2017 State winners can also be found here.  


  • Environmental Innovation Winner – Boral Australia, advanced water management
  • Health and Safety Innovation Winner – Hazell Bros Group Pty Ltd, concrete placement conveyor
  • Community Leadership Winner – Cement Australia, Classroom in a Cement Plant


  • Environmental Innovation Winner – Hanson Australia Pty Ltd, Rowland Flat Quarry - progressive rehabilitation
  • Health and Safety Innovation Winner – Adelaide Brighton Cement - engineered lab solutions designed to eliminate concrete cylinder manual handling
  • Community Leadership Winner – Boral Australia, Linwood Quarry - community drop-in sessions


  • Environmental Innovation Winner – Holcim (Australia Pty Ltd), Bli Bli Quarry - floating flocculation system
  • Health and Safety Innovation Winner – Boral Australia, Wacol Depot - truck body prop
  • Community Leadership Winner – Holcim, Beenleigh Quarry - Cultural Day


  • Environmental Innovation Winner – Cleary Bros., Albion Park Quarry - enhanced revegetation of rainforest communities
  • Health and Safety Innovation Winner – Boral Australia, Tippers North - rock removal from dual tyre kit
  • Community Leadership Winner – Boral Australia, Teven Quarry - building social inclusion with the community


  • Environmental Innovation Winner – Barro Group, Werribee Concrete - drive-over slumping station
  • Health and Safety Innovation Winner – Boral Australia, Deek Park Laboratory - poly-fibre separation centrifuge
  • Community Leadership Winner – Hanson Australia Pty Ltd, Lysterfield Quarry - Community Reference Group newsletter


  • Environmental Innovation Winner – Cockburn Cement, Kalgoorlie Parkeston Distribution Centre – solar-powered locomotive
  • Health and Safety Innovation Winner – Boral Australia, Orange Grove Quarry -  primary ROM bin isolation gates
  • Community Leadership Winner – Holcim (Australia) Pty Ltd, Bunbury Concrete Plant - Community Art Bin wall mural project